Post Reply 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
What are the types of myasthenia gravis?
04-22-2011, 01:40 PM
Post: #1
What are the types of myasthenia gravis?
There are three types of MG in children, including the following:
  • Congenital MG - this is a very rare non-immune form of MG that is inherited as an autosomal recessive disease. This means that both males and females are equally affected and that two copies of the gene, one inherited from each parent, are necessary to have the condition. Symptoms of congenital MG usually begin in the baby's first year and are life-long.the baby's first year and are life-long.
  • Juvenile MG - this auto-immune disorder develops typically in female adolescents - especially Caucasian females. It is a life-long condition that may go in and out of remission. About 20 percent of MG cases are juvenile-onset.
  • Transient neonatal MG - between 10 and 25 percent of babies born to mothers with MG may have a temporary form of MG. This occurs when antibodies common in MG cross the placenta to the developing fetus. Neonatal MG usually lasts only a few weeks, and babies are not at greater risk for developing MG later in life.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 

Forum Jump:

User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)