Post Reply 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
What types of spinal muscular atrophy there are?
03-31-2011, 09:51 PM
Post: #1
What types of spinal muscular atrophy there are?
Type 0
The disease is typically fatal between 2 and 6 months of age. These infants do not develop any motor skills expected of infants their age.
Type I

This type of SMA is usually fatal within two years. With mechanical breathing aids, children with type I SMA may live longer. There are a few known cases of SMA type I in which the child survived to adolescence or adulthood.

Type II
With type II SMA, 75% of those affected live to the age of 25. They are often able to sit independently when placed in a sitting position, but lose this ability by their mid-teens.

Type III
People with type III SMA may live a normal lifespan. Many learn to walk independently, though most lose the ability to do so by their 30s or 40s.

Type IV
A normal lifespan is possible for people with type IV SMA. They do not develop symptoms until their 20s or 30s and usually retain the ability to walk independently.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 

Forum Jump:

User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)